About Us

Founded in 1947, Skipton Music is recognised as one of the most successful voluntary music societies in the country. Over the years, we have been honoured to welcome such eminent artists as the contralto Kathleen Ferrier (1948), pianist/composer Benjamin Britten & tenor Peter Pears (1952), guitarists Andrés Segovia (1952) and Julian Bream (1960), cellist Jacqueline du Pré (1965) and violinist Nigel Kennedy (1986). Many world-class ensembles have also performed for us, including the Heath, Endellion and Escher String Quartets.

Skipton Music has always been keen to give a platform to younger, rising-star performers. Indeed some of the famous names above were in the early stages of their professional careers when they played for us in Skipton. Recent highlights in this regard include the South African cellist Abel Selaocoe, the Barbican String Quartet, A4 Brass Quartet and Anna Tsybuleva, winner of the Leeds International Piano Competition in 2015. If you would like to know more about the artists who have performed for us over the past decade or so, please take a look at the archive on our Concerts Page.

Our six annual concerts normally take place on Tuesday evenings between October and March at Skipton Town Hall, and everyone is welcome to attend any of these performances. However, most of our audience consists of season ticket holders, and the support of these regular visitors is central to our viability as a not-for-profit charity. That said, due to the ongoing pandemic, we will not be selling season tickets in 2021/22. Instead we are aiming to hold a series of individual concerts - for further details, see our Home Page.

You can discover lots more general and up-to-date news about our artists, concerts and other activities through our social media platforms on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram (for quick access, click on the icons on this page). Please do follow us on social media if you can and help us spread the word about what we do.

Thank you for reading and we look forward to seeing you at one or more of our forthcoming concerts...


Honorary PresidentBrian Davies
ChairFrank Finlay
Concerts SecretarySally Johnson
TreasurerPeter Leach
General SecretaryCharles Dobson
Box OfficeCaroline Minton-Taylor
ProgrammesChristine Wilson
Press & PublicityElaine Annable
Additional SupportMaurice White